End of the Year Lament

31 Dec

It makes for an entertaining day seeing 8th graders and Kindergarteners and almost everything in between in the course of seven hours. However, it also makes for a confusing, frustrating, and exhausting day. I see that I have not posted since October. I also have not looked at Twitter since October. Over the summer break I became so energized by communicating with other teachers all over the world (especially ELL teachers) because I have so little time for that in “real life”. Being the only ELL teacher at two schools gets lonely. I read blogs, followed tweets, clicked links that led to even more links until I became lost in this unseen world of teachers communicating about how to better serve kids. It was great. Then school started back. Although I promised myself I would make the time to keep up the conversation – I broke that promise.

I’m not big on making resolutions, but since all I’m accomplishing in this post is complaining – I might as well add something positive. I’m going to pick myself back up, put myself back together, and start the new year off ready to make things happen.

Walking on.

3 Responses to “End of the Year Lament”

  1. JenniferM December 31, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    Don’t be discouraged! I’ve been super behind in blogging, tweeting, reading blogs, etc. all year too. (It’s my 6th year of teaching but my first year teaching ELLs after 5 years of teaching Spanish, so it’s like I’m a first year teacher all over again.) Your resolution today is a step in the right direction — just take it easy and look for small successes. See if you can post just once a week. And remember you aren’t alone!

    • www.teachesol.wordpress.com December 31, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

      Thanks- it’s always good to remember I am in good company!

    • www.teachesol.wordpress.com December 31, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

      I’ve just tried to leave a comment on your blog but can’t seem to get it to work from the iPad. I’ll be back- glad to have “met” you- we seem to have a good bit in common!

What do you think? I'd really like to know!

Reflections of a Neophyte Teacher

From the heart, to the world.

Planting Seeds and Sprouting Wings

Helping children and families find their wings but never forget their roots

Stable Transitions

A Journey of Learning by Karen Barnstable

take a photo and....

The eltpics ideas site for teachers

English Teachin' Vegan

I'm a high school English teacher and a joyful vegan just trying to do the best I can for the world.

Learning to the Max

reflections on life and education

US Adult Literacy

An ESOL Resource from University Settlement's Adult Literacy Program

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Opine I will

I am an elementary school teacher just trying to do the right thing

Diane Ravitch's blog

A site to discuss better education for all

Providing Comprehensible Input

a resource for teaching staff and parents

Chris Speck

Squeezing English lessons out of mainstream culture and technology

Picture This! Teaching with Picture Books

Focusing on the Six Traits of Writing, Reading Strategies, Motivation, and Nonfiction

Engaged and Relevant

Just another WordPress.com site

EDUtainment BLOG @ DEVRICK.com

The madcap misadventures of a teacher and his love for comics, music, movies, media, technology, and geek culture.

ELT Rants, Reviews, and Reflections

...and other things I'm not so sure about

Learning About Learning

by Donna Miller Fry (@fryed)

Literacy, Languages and Leadership

by Dr. Sarah Elaine Eaton

Just speak English. Easy, right?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

