Lighten up. No is looking anyway.

9 Sep

I have an hour long commute. Each way. I won’t lie and act like I don’t wish it away, but I have found some good listening to make me feel the time is not wasted. (The waste of gas, however, make me cringe.) The saving grace of my commute this year has been Open Yale courses. In particular, PSYC 110 . Although I have taken an introduction to psychology course before, it most definitely was not at Yale so I figured I’d give it a try. On the way home yesterday, Professor Paul Bloom  was discussing some research into how we typically overestimate how much other people notice us (our appearance and behavior). In one study, people were sent out wearing t-shirts with Hitler on them and then asked how many people noticed their shirt. The Hitler t-shirt wearers thought that two people noticed for every one person that actually did notice. In other words, the researchers asked everyone who had come in contact with the Hitler t-shirt wearer if they noticed the person’s shirt. If the wearer had guessed that 30 people noticed their shirt, only 15 people said they had noticed it. (How could someone not notice a person is wearing Hitler on their shirt?!)

I happen to find this relieving although I could see how someone might find this disturbing. (Why do we go to so much trouble when half the people don’t notice or care?) Perhaps because I’m sort an introvert though, I think this research is rather freeing. I have always known I spend way too much time concerned with what people think of me or whether I somehow offended someone. Now I have some odd research to help me reason with myself that my worries are senseless. I guess that person didn’t like my new hair color? No, they probably just didn’t notice. If they wouldn’t notice Hitler, why would they notice your hair? Is that student having a bad day because I was too hard on them about their grades? Doubt it. Their grades might be so low because they are the master at tuning me out anyway. So what if I just gave a presentation with my fly down in front of a hundred of my co-workers that I must face every day? Even if I believe that every single person noticed, probably only 50 actually did. (Although the difference between 50 and 100 doesn’t seem significant in this situation.) Regardless, the message remains. We are not all that we think we are. People are thinking about themselves, not you. So lighten up, have fun, take risks, embarrass yourself.

I mean, if half of all people can be oblivious to the fact that someone is proudly wearing Hitler on the front of their shirt, my bad jokes, bad  haircuts, and frequent professional stumbles must be much less noticeable than I think.

People regret what they didn’t do, not what they did. I learned that in my Yale course. Can I get an honorary degree now?

2 Responses to “Lighten up. No is looking anyway.”

  1. Appetite for Instruction September 9, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

    Sounds like a cool way to deal with the commute! How do you listen to it in the car? Agreed re: having fun, taking risks, and embarrassing yourself!

    • www.teachesol.wordpress.com September 9, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

      I download the lectures to my iPhone or iPod. If you have the iPhone 4 you should already have iTunesU. It will load right in there. I also download podcasts, but I’m still searching for good ones. The Moth is a favorite so far. Thanks for reading!

What do you think? I'd really like to know!

Reflections of a Neophyte Teacher

From the heart, to the world.

Planting Seeds and Sprouting Wings

Helping children and families find their wings but never forget their roots

Stable Transitions

A Journey of Learning by Karen Barnstable

take a photo and....

The eltpics ideas site for teachers

English Teachin' Vegan

I'm a high school English teacher and a joyful vegan just trying to do the best I can for the world.

Learning to the Max

reflections on life and education

US Adult Literacy

An ESOL Resource from University Settlement's Adult Literacy Program

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Opine I will

I am an elementary school teacher just trying to do the right thing

Diane Ravitch's blog

A site to discuss better education for all

Providing Comprehensible Input

a resource for teaching staff and parents

Chris Speck

Squeezing English lessons out of mainstream culture and technology

Picture This! Teaching with Picture Books

Focusing on the Six Traits of Writing, Reading Strategies, Motivation, and Nonfiction

Engaged and Relevant

Just another WordPress.com site

EDUtainment BLOG @ DEVRICK.com

The madcap misadventures of a teacher and his love for comics, music, movies, media, technology, and geek culture.

ELT Rants, Reviews, and Reflections

...and other things I'm not so sure about

Learning About Learning

by Donna Miller Fry (@fryed)

Literacy, Languages and Leadership

by Dr. Sarah Elaine Eaton

Just speak English. Easy, right?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

