An unexpected consequence of ELLs using Edmodo

2 Sep

I have been gradually introducing web 2.0 tools to my ELLs throughout this first month using our smart board, but due to time and technology constraints I had not gotten the students in front of actual computers yet. I figured our media center visit last Friday would be a good time to encourage them to use our Edmodo. I must admit, I bribed them with an extra credit point on our test to actually post something on Edmodo or our Wallwisher (via Edmodo). Bribes aside though, I was pleasantly surprised to see them all actively engaged. While many of them were more interested in changing their profile pictures I watched as one of the higher level ELLs read the lower ELLs posts as they appeared and corrected their mistakes. At first I told him to just worry about his own English acquisition, but then I turned around to see him standing over one of the newer boys explaining a grammar mistake that he continually makes. I’ve never seen that in my class before. Even when I encourage peer editing, they will barely skim the surface before announcing they are done. Only time will tell if hearing this explanation from his peer will work better than hearing it from me, but I’m willing to bet that it will. Also, the Edmodo quiz option is quite useful as it breaks down the percent of correct/incorrect answers by question for your entire class in easy to view pie charts. It is a quick and easy way to tell if there is a certain concept the majority of students still do not understand without spending any time grading AT ALL. In addition, the students can go check their answers as soon as they are done and see the correct answer.

One Response to “An unexpected consequence of ELLs using Edmodo”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An unexpected consequence of ELLs using web 2.0 « teach esol | eLanguages | Scoop.it - September 5, 2012

    [...] I have been gradually introducing web 2.0 tools to my ELLs throughout this first month using our smart board, but due to time and technology constraints I had not gotten the students in front of actual computers yet.  [...]

What do you think? I'd really like to know!

Reflections of a Neophyte Teacher

From the heart, to the world.

Planting Seeds and Sprouting Wings

Helping children and families find their wings but never forget their roots

Stable Transitions

A Journey of Learning by Karen Barnstable

take a photo and....

The eltpics ideas site for teachers

English Teachin' Vegan

I'm a high school English teacher and a joyful vegan just trying to do the best I can for the world.

Learning to the Max

reflections on life and education

US Adult Literacy

An ESOL Resource from University Settlement's Adult Literacy Program

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Opine I will

I am an elementary school teacher just trying to do the right thing

Diane Ravitch's blog

A site to discuss better education for all

Providing Comprehensible Input

a resource for teaching staff and parents

Chris Speck

Squeezing English lessons out of mainstream culture and technology

Picture This! Teaching with Picture Books

Focusing on the Six Traits of Writing, Reading Strategies, Motivation, and Nonfiction

Engaged and Relevant

Just another WordPress.com site

EDUtainment BLOG @ DEVRICK.com

The madcap misadventures of a teacher and his love for comics, music, movies, media, technology, and geek culture.

ELT Rants, Reviews, and Reflections

...and other things I'm not so sure about

Learning About Learning

by Donna Miller Fry (@fryed)

Literacy, Languages and Leadership

by Dr. Sarah Elaine Eaton

Just speak English. Easy, right?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

